Posted by: Martial Arts Point Room | April 8, 2012

Meditation, Satanic???

The question? Is meditation satanic or evil?

Let me tell a short story. Just before starting a karate class for 6-15 year olds, one parent approached me, and ask, if she could talk to me about the meditation, we performed before class. I ask, is there a problem? She responded, I was told, meditation is stanic and the work of the devil.

Needless to say, I was astonished. Trying to clear your head before doing any kind of activity would be considered or seen as satanic or evil, in some way. I explained to her, what is meant by the meditiation, and with that explaination, she was fine. It is only a way to relax, clear your mind of outside influence, I told her, so that we can concentrate on learning the techniques faster. It is not Buddist, (although Buddist’s meditate) or anti- relegious, of any kind. Personally, I find it rediculous,  I even had to explain that to a grown person. Any comments on this subject? Let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

Categories

